Berwick Film & Media Arts Festival


A new season and a new approach. After 18 years BFMAF is moving to a new date, 3 – 5th March 2023. Find out more here.

Ahead of its 18th edition, Berwick Film & Media Arts Festival has created four new job roles which will help shape the Festival. For further details on each role or to make an application, please visit our Opportunities page.




Berwick New Cinema Award

Selected submissions for this year’s edition will be considered for the 2022 Berwick New Cinema Award as well as site-specific exhibitions in Berwick-upon-Tweed during the Festival.

The Berwick New Cinema Awards encompasses the festival’s view of the most distinctive works of new cinema being made around the world today.

All selected filmmakers receive an award rather than a single winner chosen by a jury.


Past winners:

  • 2021, All selected filmmakers shared the award.

Sophia Al-Maria, Ane Hjort Guttu, Salad Hilowle, Adam Lewis Jacob, Tim Leyendekker, Jordan Lord, Fox Maxy, Iméar McClay, Cat McClay, Abdessamad El Montassir, Carlos Maria Romero, Suneil Sanzgiri, Fern Silva, Camara Taylor, Amalia Ulman, Rehana Zaman.

  • 2020, All selected filmmakers shared the award.

Basel Abbas & Ruanne Abou-Rahme, Maria Anastassiou, Yu Araki, Mariana Caló & Francisco Queimadela, Luis Lopez Carrasco, Rhea Dillon, Jessica Dunn Rovinelli, Mouaad el Salem, Maria Clara Escobar, Elise Florenty & Marcel Türkowsky, Luke Fowler, Sky Hopinka, Nelson Makengo, Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese, Phạm Ngọc Lân, Stefan Ramirez Perez, Lisa Spilliaert.

  • 2019, Onyeka Igwe, the names have changed, including my own and truths have been altered, UK,
  • 2018, Callum Hill, Crowtrap, UK, 2018
  • 2017, Sky Hopinka, Dislocation Blues, US, 2017
  • 2016, Camilo Restrepo, Cilaos, France, 2015

Past Jury members include:

Callum Hill (filmmaker); Hyun Jin Cho (programmer, London Film Festival)), Julian Ross (programmer, International Film Festival Rotterdam), Sky Hopinka (filmmaker), Sonali Joshi (film producer and distributor, Day for Night), Gail Pickering (artist), Camilo Restrepo (filmmaker). Amal Khalaf (DIrector of Programmes, Cubitt), Joanna Raczyńska (film programmer, National Gallery of Art, USA), Shama Khanna (curator, Flatness), Rehna Zaman (filmmaker), Sebastian Buerkner (filmmaker), Beatrice Gibson (filmmaker), Salomé Lamas (filmmaker) and Fatos Üstek (curator).